FGV EPGE receives Nobel Prize John Nash

Date of the event: 08/01/2014 - 09:00

For presentations, PDFs and other information about the event click here.

To access the photo gallery click here.

To access the video gallery click here 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9.

For news and repercussion click here.

FGV EPGE - Brazilian School of Economics and Finance received the winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics in 1994, professor John Nash, during the "Games Theory" workshop last Friday, August 1st. The event - part of the Game Theory Society workshop series - featured the Applied Research Institute (IPEA) and the Economics and Politics Research Group (EPRG) as partners.

During the meeting, a homage was paid to the teacher Marilda Sotomayor, responsible for pioneering studies on Game Theory in Brazil. The Minister of Strategic Affairs of the Presidency of the Republic, Marcelo Neri, and the president of Ipea, Sergei Suarez Dillon Soares, participated in the ceremony.

In addition, important experts in the field, such as Salvador Barberà of the Autonomous University of Barcelona and Steve Brams of the University of New York, presented papers on the implications of strategic decision making. Also present were the President of the Getulio Vargas Foundation Carlos Ivan Simonsen Leal; The director of FGV EPGE Rubens Penha Cysne; The adviser Lindolpho de Carvalho Dias; Former Finance Minister Marcílio Marques Moreira; The German Consul-General Harald Klein; The United States Consul-General John S. Creamer; And one of the founders of the National Institute of Pure and Applied Mathematics (IMPA) Maurício Peixoto.

The workshop was also attended by Abraham Neyman of Hebrew University; Inés Macho Stadier, from the Autonomous University of Barcelona; And Myrna Wooders, from Vanderbit University and David Perez Castrillo - Universitat Autónoma de Barcelona.

See the repercussion in the press:

Jornal do Commercio - PE

O Globo - RJ

Brasil Econômico - SP

Gazeta de Alagoas - AL

O Libertal - PA

A Gazeta - ES

O Globo - RJ

O Globo - RJ